GBA Lifestyle News
City Living Section
By The Loop HK Staff | December 30th, 2019

Holiday planning 2020, here we come! As per our annual tradition, here is a list of Hong Kong holidays for the year ahead — that’s 2020, start of a new decade!

If you take full advantage of all the possible long weekend combos, you’ll be able to jet off very frequently indeed this year. There are quite a few Monday and Friday day-offs for 2020, woohoo! We’ve bolded these special days to make planning that much easier for you. You’re welcome!

 

Hong Kong Public Holidays for the year 2020

New Year January 1 Wednesday
Lunar New Year’s Day January 25 Saturday
The third day of Lunar New Year January 27 Monday
The fourth day of Lunar New Year January 28 Tuesday
Ching Ming Festival April 4 Saturday
Good Friday April 10 Friday
The day following Good Friday April 11 Saturday
Easter Monday April 13 Monday
Birthday of the Buddha April 30 Thursday
Labour Day May 1 Friday
Tuen Ng Festival June 25 Thursday
Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day July 1 Wednesday
National Day October 1 Thursday
The day following the Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival October 2 Friday
The day following Chung Yeung Festival October 26 Monday
Christmas Day December 25 Friday
The first weekday after Christmas Day December 26 Saturday

Source: gov.hk